top of page

A Greater Purpose


As a pro-Philippines, pro-Duterte citizen, there are three things that set me off in beast mode far too quickly than I could stop myself from spewing out expletives:

1) Foreigners calling Filipinos derogatory names and hurtful descriptions, 2) Any form of injustice against working Filipinos abroad or our OFWs, and 3) International media and its mission to destabilize our country.

We don't get paid for what we do. Many of us get attacked, get death threats, get hate messages from people who want to preserve the status quo. Most of us have been misunderstood and alienated by family and friends. We also don't get enough sleep most of the time.

But in all this, we found a greater purpose despite knowing that in a larger context, we are just insignificant beings going through this lifetime as we should. We were born, we are living, we will die. But being together, it makes a little more sense to have some nationalistic or grander sentiment: we lived with a purpose.

Years from now, gray-haired or bald-headed, I would think, when we get the chance to gather again, we would laugh and we would say we fought the good fight regardless if we don't get to see the real fruits of our battle.

So when I feel too distraught and helpless and angry over things that are beyond me, I turn to my comrades, spew expletives with them, get some affirmations then go back to the frontlines. I remember the private messages sent to me by complete strangers: victims of rape, victims of drug use or drug addicts, OFWs abroad, fellow Filipinos who are struggling to find their own courage and voice, people who are just so grateful that we have a president who loves our country. And I would be okay. I would remember why I do what I do.

I have said it before, and I will say it again now: It is all worth it.

Shoutout to the Filipinos abroad fighting with us, maraming maraming salamat po! Magkita-kita po sana tayo soon!

To follow Faith on Facebook, click above image.


FOLLOW US

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

bottom of page