top of page

Just a Show


Where do I begin?

I was at the Luneta last night. I was geared up, hoping for the best, but also bracing for the worst. After all, Feb25 2017 will probably go down in the annals of Philippine history as one of the most toxic, politically-charged day ever.

A prelude to last night was my search for a little spark or a sense of excitement from ordinary folks in the days leading to the 25th.

There was none.

Although the buzz in social media was frenetic. Things are heated up in cyberspace. The endless battles have already taken its toll on relationships, real or imagined, close and open, on and off and other forms.

So I even tried to start a convo with the uber driver I was with last Wednesday but he did not show interest. Leila de Lima was the hot topic.

And this I also wondered out loud. What's going on? Why is De Lima being arrested prior to Edsa? Hmmm something's not right.

So I went to Luneta trying to prep myself but also feeling this trepidation.

Let it be known that at the outset, I was trying to convince the more popular bloggers and socmed warriors that Luneta 25th was a bad idea.

That having a simultaneous rally with the yellows at EDSA is a trap that is being set by shrewd people with evil machinations. That there is a hidden agenda somewhere.

I also said that we are being sucked into a power play and that the yellows stand to benefit from this as they can spin the Luneta rally to their advantage. True enough, international media has been screaming that "rallies across the Philippines to protest Duterte arrest of critic."

I also said that rather than have a gathering on the 25th, we all should adopt DEADMA SA EDSA as our stance on this day. It would have been a more powerful message to show the natural dying of the EDSA yellow narrative, as can be attested by their anemic attendance yesterday.

My initial stance probably rubbed some of my fellow bloggers the wrong way, but then again, that is the beauty of our unified diversity. What prevails is the free flow of ideas and every voice is heard, tolerated and answered.

Nevertheless, I gave my support to the Luneta gathering because there are also many of our countrymen sending me private messages and wondering if we are all in this together. So I said to myself that "ok, let's get it on!"

So last night came and went.

And this is the part were I will be most honest people --- last night was an 'effin job fair and kiss-the-boss'-ass event!

The people who went on stage and who I saw and heard were a veritable who's who of discredited, dismissed officials and influence peddlers who are like vultures circling a prey.

Now I don't know the organizers of the gathering, and I don't have the slightest idea of what their group stands for. All I saw last night ON STAGE were people who seem to be trying to be on the good graces of President Duterte.

For the crowd itself, my untrained estimate last night is that it was between 200,000 to 300,000.

Again this I have say truthfully - half of that crowd are people bussed in or brought by their respective localities. Yes I saw vehicles that have baranggay logos and I also saw a delagation wearing t shirt of the color of their mayor. It's not red, white, blue or yellow.

Yes it's terrible. Yes, I am shocked. And yes I am upset.

Now don't get me wrong. There were people there who went with the genuine intent of expressing their support to the President. There are groups there who really came because they believe in the President, who will not hesitate to defend him from destabilizers.

And there were common folks who went there out of faith and trust and support to their social media warriors, who they feel best represent the fight for what Duterte stands for - the fight for the motherland. These folks came from all strata of society - professionals, artists, laymen, laborers, students, millennials, baby boomers, gen X, immigrants, balikbayans, etc.

There were also organic gatherings from all across the globe, where Filipinos steadfastly manifest their unyielding faith in the president and his program of government.

These gatherings are genuine.

And this is the one thing that the non-believers would be hard put to accept -- the Filipinos who support and trust Rodrigo Duterte cuts across demographics. Meaning, he truly has the overwhelming backing of the country.

Which is to say that as I have sensed, the majority do not believe there is a need to gather now, despite the incessant and increasing but very deplorable and pathetic attempts at ousting him, and wanting him replaced by an inutile and mindless VP.

In fact, people no longer care about EDSA too, and are not up in arms over allegations of EJKs because they know the real score.

And I will daresay this too -- there is authentic anger with the Filipino people. Anger and rage at those who have abused their power and who have corrupted the nation shamelessly. This anger is deep and widespread, and like a volcano, may explode with a slight tremor. And there is this fury within that is set to be unleashed to those who have betrayed the public trust. Am telling you, it's time to collect and make the plunderers, protectors and treasonous trapos pay.

That is why I am in contempt and I am offended by what I experienced last night. We were blindsided and used by shadows who have an altogether different intent from our desire for our president and our country.

I am upset that last night was hijacked for selfish reasons. I am upset that my favorite social media warriors and the cause they are fighting for, were used.

The nobility of purpose was set aside and gave way to the more mundane show of artificial strength. Even the crowd last night did not respond with the fervor and passion that Duterte usually inspires. They also recognize last night was entertainment, not engagement.

Of course the destabilizers should not clap at my declaration, nor should they use this as clear evidence of fragmentation within the supporters of the president.

On the contrary, my belief is that I need to put this out in the open as what a lowly gardener would do to rid his garden of weeds.

There is no denying that as in any administration, there will be those with selfish motives, and they will always try to ingratiate themselves in the corridors of power.

Last night, Luneta and the Quirino Grandstand grounds were set ablaze in a fiery show of force.

Too bad the only thing authentic was the "show."

To follow Mark on Facebook, click above image.


FOLLOW US

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

bottom of page