top of page

A Good Captain


I have always loved my country.

I can still remember those "confrontations" inside my head after university, to go or to stay. And of course, being the makabayang Iska that I was, I stayed, and served by paying my taxes.

But there came a time when I finally accepted defeat. My love for my country was not enough to feed my family. I finally accepted that Philippines was only for the rich and entitled, and people like me who have no connections at all, are doomed to that proverbial "isang kahig, isang tuka" status. The rich will always win. Even when the law speaks on your side, the rich can silence the law with a single snap of their pretty, well manicured, little fingers.

With a heavy heart I told myself that the Philippines was going nowhere. I was convinced the wolves and the crocodiles will never lose their power. So, I packed my bags, left home and made my way to the other side of the world.

But hey, we Filipinos must all have prayed so hard. Lupang hinirang has finally awaken from the clutches of a nightmarish sleep. And the energy, oh the vigor! Even across the seas, I can feel you Philippines! And I am proud to have lived in this era. And to be part of this awakening.

Oras na para lumayag, Pilipinas. We have a good Captain. The ship only needs its crew to act as one. And today, we have shown that we can throw overboard those who cannot work with the Captain.

This piece was submitted to us by May RV Gallardo, an OFW based in Dubai, UAE. To link to her FB page, click on above image.


FOLLOW US

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

RECENT POSTS

ARCHIVE

bottom of page